Profiles of the Speakers


Commissioner for Climate Action
European Commission

Connie Hedegaard had already been working with climate issues for several years by the time she began her appointment as the EU’s Commissioner for Climate Action in February 2010.

Having become the youngest member of the Danish Parliament in 1984 and subsequently pursuing a journalism career, she went on to be appointed as Danish Minister for the Environment in 2004.

In 2007, she was in charge of setting up the Danish Ministry of Climate and Energy, where one of the main tasks was to prepare the UN Climate Conference in Copenhagen in December 2009.

Ms Hedegaard holds a master’s in Literature and History from the University of Copenhagen.


Jos-Delbeke-200x300Jos DELBEKE
Director General DG Climate Action
European Commission

Jos Delbeke has been Director General for Climate Action since 2010.

Mr Delbeke joined the European Commission in 1986, after working as an economist at the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in Washington. Mr Delbeke initially focused on market-based instruments, cost-benefit analysis and the new chemicals legislation REACH (1994-1998), before becoming the European Commission’s chief negotiator at the UNFCCC Conference of the Parties on Climate Change (1999-2003). As Deputy Director General of DG Environment (2008-2010), he participated in several negotiation processes on climate change and energy at the inter-institutional level (involving the Council and the European Parliament) as well as at the international level.

Mr Delbeke holds a PhD in economics. He was a lecturer at Leuven University and at Vlekho Business School in Brussels.


D.RistoriDominique RISTORI
Director General Joint Research Centre
European Commission

Dominique Ristori is the Director General of the Joint Research Centre, a post he acquired in 2010.

Prior to holding this position, Mr Ristori was the Commission’s Deputy Director General for Energy and Transport. Mr Ristori has been working in the European Commission since 1978.

From 1996 to 2000, Mr Ristori was Director in charge of energy policy. Between 2000 and 2002, Dominique Ristori served as Director in charge of General Affairs. He was responsible for policy and inter-institutional relations as well as environmental aspects of energy and transport. In 2002, he became Director at DG Energy and Transport in charge of general affairs and resources.

Dominique Ristori has a degree in Law from the Institute of Political Studies of Paris.


Wolfgang Bernhard 2013Wolfgang BERNHARD
Chairman ACEA Commercial Vehicle Board
Head of Daimler Trucks

Wolfgang Bernhard has been a member of the Board of Management of Daimler since 2010. He is the current Chairman of the CV-BOD.

He joined Mercedes-Benz in 1992, becoming Head of Assembly of the Mercedes S-Class in 1994 before being promoted to CEO of Mercedes-AMG GmbH in 1999. He was appointed a member of the board of management of DaimlerChrysler AG in November 2000 and held the position of Chief Operating Officer for the Chrysler Group from November 2000 until 2004. In February 2005 he joined the Board of Volkswagen AG and became chairman of the VW Group brands from May 2005 to February 2007.

Dr Bernhard completed his master’s degree in electrical engineering and economics at the Technical University Darmstadt, and received his MBA from Columbia Business School. He completed his doctoral degree, with a dissertation on International Exchange Rate Risks at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt.

Cindy Miller_UPSCindy MILLER
UPS Europe

Cindy Miller, a 24-year UPS veteran, has been president of UPS Europe since April 2013, making her responsible for all UPS operations in more than

120 countries and territories across Europe, the Middle East and Africa (EMEA). The EMEA region is UPS’s largest non-US operation.

Ms Miller has held several key executive positions at UPS, such as President of UPS South Europe and Africa, as well as similar roles in the US. She began working for UPS as a package car driver and, like many UPSers, worked her way up through positions of increasing responsibility. Her most recent assignment was President of UPS UK, Ireland and the Nordics where she was the leader responsible for UPS’s outstanding performance as Official Logistics and Express Delivery Supporter of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. This included the oversight and execution of innovative sustainability solutions through UPS’s technology and logistics solutions.

Cindy Miller has extensive experience and knowledge of the EMEA region, having served in senior executive positions in Europe since 2008.


erik jonnaertErik JONNAERT
Secretary General

Mr Jonnaert joined ACEA in October 2013 as Secretary General.

Erik Jonnaert, a lawyer, began his career with Linklaters law firm in Brussels. He later joined Procter & Gamble, a US consumer goods company, where he spent more than 25 years in various positions in public affairs, regulatory affairs, communications and stakeholder relations.

Prior to his ACEA appointment, Mr Jonnaert was Procter & Gamble’s Vice President for external relations in Asia and Vice President of the European Chamber of Commerce in Singapore.

Mr Jonnaert is a graduate of Harvard Law School.


Cathy SmithCathy SMITH

Cathy Smith is a journalist who now specialises in conference moderating, media training and presentation training for a wide range of international clients.

Ms Smith worked for the BBC for many years as a reporter and presenter. She is a former Brussels-based correspondent for both the BBC and GMTV and was a main presenter of Channel Four News in the UK.

She fronted the BBC regional news programme Northwest Tonight and worked as a reporter for RTHK in Hong Kong and Radio New Zealand in Auckland. She is now a presenter of European Journal for DeutscheWelle TV.